SAN CLEMENTE, Calif., March 28, 2017 – San Diego County's best surf shops converged at Seaside Reef last weekend to compete in the first stop of the Oakley Surf Shop Challenge. The event kicked off in pumping surf with 12 teams set to battle it out for the title of the 2017 Southwest Champions and a year's worth of bragging rights. Sun Diego Boardshop's Mission Beach team narrowly edged out defending champions Surf Ride of Oceanside, 33.78 to 31.87, to take the title.

2017 SW Champions Sun Diego Boardshops (L-R) Branden DeFilippo, Dayne Knudson, Taylor Clark, Ricky Whitlock. Photo: JP Van Swae @jpvanswae

In a highly contested final, Jordy Collins of Surf Ride Oceanside whammied a solid 9.28 (out of 10), but it wasn't quite enough to top Taylor Clark’s whammied 9.67 ride which secured Sun Diego's first victory in the event's history.

The Sun Diego team will meet the rest of the regional qualifiers this fall when all seven teams convene at the National Championships to battle for the title of the Most Core Surf Shop in America.

Final Results:

1st: Sun Diego Mission Beach – 33.78 points

2nd: Surf Ride- Oceanside- 31.87 points

3rd: South Coast Surf Shop – 26.16 points

4th: Hansens – 25.47 points

5th: Surf Ride- Solana Beach- 14.7 points

The Oakley Surf Shop Challenge series heads to Paradise Beach Park in Melbourne, Florida for stop number two, the Southeast regional on April 6, 7 or 8, depending on conditions.

The 2017 Oakley Surf Shop Challenge Schedule:

  • March 24 – Southwest – Seaside Reef, Cardiff, Calif. – SUN DIEGO
  • April 6/7/8 – Southeast – Paradise Beach Park, Melbourne, Fla.
  • April 10/11/12 – Mid-Atlantic – Nags Head, Outer Banks, NC
  • April 12/1314 – Northeast – Manasquan Inlet, NJ
  • May 25/26 – Northwest – Pleasure Point, Santa Cruz, Calif.
  • June 9 – West – 54th or 56th Street – Newport Beach, Calif.
  • July 10/11 – Hawaii – Ala Moana Bowls, South Shore, Haw.
  • Fall 2017 – National Championship – TBD

Special thanks to Oakley, SURFER and event partners, Leus, Aluminati Skateboards and FCS for their support, without which the Surf Shop Challenge series would not be possible.