SAN CLEMENTE, Calif., August 23, 2012 —The 2012 Oakley Surf Shop Challenge presented by SURFER Magazine makes its final regional stop at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, Calif. on Aug. 31 for the Northwest Regional Qualifier.

2011 Northeast Regional Champions O'Neill Surf Shop

The event series pits four-man teams—two surf shop pros and two shop employees—against each other for a chance to win $10,000, an advertising spread in SURFER Magazine, and the title of best surf shop in the country. Overall, nearly 300 surfers from 70 shops around the U.S. will compete over the course of seven regional qualifying events. In an exciting addition for 2012, the winning team of each region will receive an all-expense-paid trip to Bali, Indonesia, to compete in the National Championship in October.

The Pacific Northwest serves up a highly contested Regional Qualifier year after year. O’Neill Surf Shop has historically dominated, with wins in 2007, 2008, and 2011, but neighboring Pacific Wave snuck in to claim the win in 2010 and Peter Mel’s Freeline snagged the 2009 win. With a trip to Bali on the line, all three teams will be looking to re-claim the title. Team Channel Islands, Revolution Surf Co., and Arrow Surf Shop are also strong competitors to watch for.

Watch the 2011 Northwest Qualifier Video Highlights at

The list of 2012 invited Northwest teams:

* Pacific Wave
* The Beachhouse
* O’Neill Surf Shop
* Rincon Designs Surf Shop
* Norcal Surf Shop
* Channel Islands Surfboards
* Revolution Surf Company
* Arrow Surf Shop
* On the Beach Surf Shop
* Wavelengths SBI Boardshop
* Freeline Design Surf Shop
* Proof Lab Surf Shop
* Sundance Beach
* Moondoggies Surf Shop
* Pancho’s Surf Shop
* Mavericks Surf Shop

Kicking off April 6 with Event No. 1 at Seaside Reef in Cardiff, Calif., former National Champions (2008) SurfRide earned their ticket to Bali by winning the Southwest Regional Qualifier. Wave Riding Vehicles (Mid-Atlantic), Heritage Ocean City (Northeast), Jack’s Surfboards (West), Town & Country (Hawaii) and Sunrise (Southeast) have also qualified. The seven qualifying teams will travel to Bali, Indonesia to compete at Keramas from October 6-10 for the National Championship.

Special thanks to Oakley and other event partners, Muscle Milk, Rusty, Bubble Gum, New Era, Future Fins, Waterman’s Applied Science and Mizu for their support, without which the Surf Shop Challenge series would not be possible. Start the conversation with #OSSC.